Loading...
search

What's On → Visual Art

Mining seams and drawing wells: a living archive for Easterhouse

19 Nov 2022 → 21 Jan 2023

Free

Coming November 2022…

From poets and theatre-makers to tenants’ associations, rent strikers and everyday activists, we will share the stories of a community that has always fought hard to make its own voice heard. The exhibition will take place in a specially-created ‘living room archive’. This is a shared space for anyone to come and add their own stories and memories, swap tales across a cup of tea, and make sure the tale of Easterhouse continues to be written.

Across the Year of Stories, writer Joey Simons and artist Keira McLean will work with local residents in the Greater Easterhouse area. Creative writing, oral history, walking inquiries and radical education will weave the community's many histories together in unexpected ways.

Mining seams and drawing wells is about celebrating these interconnecting histories and sharing our stories. Like the coal seams and ancient wells that run beneath Easterhouse, we want to unearth the myths, legends and hidden histories that have shaped the community.

 

Dates and times
Sat 19 Nov
10:00am—5:00pm
Sat 19 Nov
10:00am — 5:00pm
Sun 20 Nov
10:00am — 5:00pm
Mon 21 Nov
10:00am — 5:00pm
Tue 22 Nov
10:00am — 5:00pm
Wed 23 Nov
10:00am — 5:00pm
Thu 24 Nov
10:00am — 5:00pm
Fri 25 Nov
10:00am — 5:00pm
Sat 26 Nov
10:00am — 5:00pm
Sun 27 Nov
10:00am — 5:00pm
Mon 28 Nov
10:00am — 5:00pm
Tue 29 Nov
10:00am — 5:00pm
Wed 30 Nov
10:00am — 5:00pm
Thu 1 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Fri 2 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Sat 3 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Sun 4 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Mon 5 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Tue 6 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Wed 7 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Thu 8 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Fri 9 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Sat 10 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Sun 11 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Mon 12 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Tue 13 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Wed 14 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Thu 15 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Fri 16 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Sat 17 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Sun 18 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Mon 19 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Tue 20 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Wed 21 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Thu 22 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Fri 23 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Sat 24 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Sun 25 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Mon 26 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Tue 27 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Wed 28 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Thu 29 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Fri 30 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Sat 31 Dec
10:00am — 5:00pm
Sun 1 Jan
10:00am — 5:00pm
Mon 2 Jan
10:00am — 5:00pm
Tue 3 Jan
10:00am — 5:00pm
Wed 4 Jan
10:00am — 5:00pm
Thu 5 Jan
10:00am — 5:00pm
Fri 6 Jan
10:00am — 5:00pm
Sat 7 Jan
10:00am — 5:00pm
Sun 8 Jan
10:00am — 5:00pm
Mon 9 Jan
10:00am — 5:00pm
Tue 10 Jan
10:00am — 5:00pm
Wed 11 Jan
10:00am — 5:00pm
Thu 12 Jan
10:00am — 5:00pm
Fri 13 Jan
10:00am — 5:00pm
Sat 14 Jan
10:00am — 5:00pm
Sun 15 Jan
10:00am — 5:00pm
Mon 16 Jan
10:00am — 5:00pm
Tue 17 Jan
10:00am — 5:00pm
Wed 18 Jan
10:00am — 5:00pm
Thu 19 Jan
10:00am — 5:00pm
Fri 20 Jan
10:00am — 5:00pm
Sat 21 Jan
10:00am — 5:00pm
Additional info

This event has been supported by the Year of Stories 2022 Community Stories Fund. 
This fund is being delivered in partnership between VisitScotland and Museums Galleries Scotland with support from National Lottery Heritage Fund thanks to National Lottery players.

Scotland’s Year of Stories 2022 is a celebration of stories inspired by, written, or created in Scotland. Stories are a vital part of Scotland’s culture and every community has a different tale to tell. In 2022, a whole host of events will be held across Scotland – by community groups, museums, culture and heritage organisations and visitor attractions – showcasing our rich storytelling and literary heritage. 

Visual Arts